Skip to content

the eighty-ninth key

…to a body beauty and to a soul wisdom and to an action virtue and to speech truth, but their opposites are unbefitting.

I’m thinking that keeping a consistent post of links might be a ridiculous endeavor to undertake, but I find myself realizing that most of what I come across both on the Interwebs and in my daily life is not as much inspiration for commentary as it worth giving a signal boost. And I would be much remiss if I thought that I was doing things proper justice or recording by copying and pasting their links into a Facebook status. So, here is an array of things I think are worth your time to look at:

On Sexuality:

Hugh Hefner discusses sexual freedoms (SFW)
Women in Togo, a West African Country, begin a sex strike that one could liken to a modern Lysistrata (Thanks for the link, Z!)

In (not so recent) Television:

I find myself to be recently obsessed with absolutely hooked on The West Wing‘s predecessor, Sports NightAaron Sorkin again (can you say again if it was done before?) succeeds in creating characters that I want my peer group to emulate, scenes that give me feelings for no real reason, rapid fire dialogue that I will annoyingly want my conversations to be on par with, and quotes that are spot-on with my life decisions, ranging from the heart-stretchingly honorable:

“It’s taken me a lot of years, but I’ve come around to this: If you’re dumb, surround yourself with smart people. If you’re smart, surround yourself with smart people who disagree with you.”

Issac Jaffe (character) on “Sports Night”

…To the possibly more hapless and realistic:

“And in that moment, Dan was reminded once again why he wanted to write in the first place. It’s for the same reason anybody does anything: to impress women.”

Jeremy Goodwin (character) on “Sports Night”

I have also attempted watching Doctor Who, and am finding that I might never be able to realize my place as an alpha nerd due to a lack of ability to get past bad alien costuming in sci-fi. I’m almost three episodes in. We’ll see.

In Music, and an complete lack of knowledge thereof:

Bloggers at the LA Weekly have done their best to completely alienate me by putting many bands I love on lists for ‘The 20 Worst Hipster Bands‘ and ‘The Top 20 Worst Bands of All Time‘ leaving me to dread what music they might think is actually ‘good’.

Lastly, for now, in cuteness:

A picture I found on Tumblr of a ton of White German Shepherds being mind-nummingly adorable and making me miss my dog like absolutely crazy:

Image

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

